Organize and share the deals you like.

Murder by the Book Houston

It’s Crime Time! Issue 68: Exciting New Releases, Pre-Order Signed Copies!

It’s Crime Time! Issue 68: Exciting New Releases, Pre-Order Signed Copies!

It’s Crime Time! Issue 68: Exciting New Releases, Pre-Order Signed Copies!

vertical-align: top;
font-style: normal;
text-align: left;
text-align: center;
 
What we’re talking about this week!
 1. Signed Rick Riordan! Riordan’s new book went on sale this morning. It’s the start of a new series featuring Norse Gods. We’ll be getting signed copies of The Sword of Summer as well as a limited number of signed copies of Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes, and Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods. Signed copies will be available on Monday, October 12th. 
2. Kyle Mills Signing! Kyle Mills will be here Sunday, October 11th at 2:00 p.m. to sign Vince Flynn’s The Survivor. Mills was picked by the Flynn estate to continue the Mitch Rapp series, and the early reviews we’ve seen have been great. Head over to Mill’s website for his message to Flynn fans. He explains his history with Flynn as well as his goals for trying to continue the Mitch Rapp series. 
3. John Sandford Signing! Saturn Run by John Sandford was released today, and Sandford will be here on Saturday, October 10th at 4:30 p.m. to sign. Saturn Run is a departure for Sandford, but Stephen King says, “Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.”
4. Twilight Tenth Anniversary! Stephenie Meyer surprised fans this morning by announcing that she was releasing a 10th anniversary edition of Twilight. The book is out now, and comes with a companion novel. In Life and Death, Meyer retells the story of Twilight with a gender flip! Meyer reimagines the story from the perspective of Beaufort Swan, a young boy who has just moved to Forks and meets a beautiful girl named Edythe Cullen. 
6. Bats of the Republic! Sometimes a book comes in and it’s so gorgeous we can’t help but drool over it. S. by J.J. Abrams was one on this books, and this is one too. Set in Texas, Bats of the Republic is an illuminated novel of adventure, featuring hand-drawn maps and natural history illustrations, subversive pamphlets and science-fictional diagrams, and even a nineteenth-century novel-within-a-novel an intrigue wrapped in innovative design. For more information on the this gorgeous book, check out this video. 
7. Local Interest Section! Speaking of books set in Texas, we recently created a section in the store for books set in Texas, as well as books by Texas authors.  We’ve got books from Kay Finch, Tom Abrahams, Mark Gimenez, Mark Pryor, Kay Kendall, as well as some local non-fiction too. We’ll be adding to the section in the coming months, so keep checking back to see how it grows. 
8. We’re sad to announce that Henning Mankell passed away this week. This article has links to several obituaries as well as tributes from his fellow crime writers. 
As the holidays draw near we start getting in the most interesting non-fiction and gift books. Here’s a selection of some of our new arrivals:
*Our copies of The Gap of Time are signed (tipped-in). 
Sherlock Coloring Book Release Party
Saturday, November 7, 2:00 p.m. 
Sherlock: The Mind Palace is the first official Sherlock Coloring book from the BBC series. A vital clue from each episode is hidden within the original black and white illustrations, and only by completing the scene can they be found.  The book will be released on November 3rd, and to celebrate the release we’ll be hosting a coloring open house on Saturday, November 7th at 2:00 p.m.  We’ll have a small number of colored pencils available, and encourage you to bring your own from home and join us for an afternoon of coloring and refreshments. 
Hardcover New Releases
Paperback New Releases
New Release Cozies
Young Reader New Releases
Click on “Upcoming Events” to view our entire September Event Calendar! We’re currently giving out numbers / line passes for our events with  Brandon Sanderson, William Gibson, Amy Stewart, John Sandford, Kyle Mills, Manuel Ramos, Jeff Guinn, Jaime Lee Moyer, and Dean “Miranda” James. 
If ordering books for an upcoming event, please specify in the comments section of the order so that we can set aside a line pass for that evening’s event.
Wednesday,
October 7th,
6:30 p.m. 
Brandon Sanderson will sign and discuss Shadows of Self. Elantris 10th Anniversary Edition also available!
Click here for more information or to order signed /inscribed copies.
Thursday,
October 8th,
William Gibson will sign and discuss the paperback release of Peripheral.
October 10th,
4:30 p.m. 
John Sandford will sign and discuss his new science-fiction novel, Saturn Run.
Murder by the Book
2342 BissonnetHouston, Texas 77005

avatar

Pinned onto

Related Pins

♫ New Music Arrivals: Rush, Muddy Waters, Elvis Presley, and More New
♫ New Music Arrivals: Rush, Muddy Waters, Elvis Presley, and More

Music Direct Presents: New Music This Week New Music Arrivals: Rush, Muddy Waters, Elvis Presley, and More Rush Signals 1982’s

Poetry at the Penn Book Center: M. Nzadi Keita New
Poetry at the Penn Book Center: M. Nzadi Keita

Reading and Reception M. Nzadi Keita  Brief Evidence of Heaven: Poems from the Life of Anna Murray Douglass Brief Evidence

FREE Tickling Vibe w/ BONUS & Oral Tricks! New
FREE Tickling Vibe w/ BONUS & Oral Tricks!

Bring inline: Yes */ Hello Everyone! -Angela ([email protected]) Adult Novelty Expert / Food Lover / Artist   delivery. Click

♫ Special Extended Financing Offer New
♫ Special Extended Financing Offer

Closeout Specials from Music Direct .LastChanceLineItemsTable Save on Focal, Cambridge Audio, and More   View on Web Forward This musicdirect,

JUST BOOKED: Ethan Hawke Comes to BookPeople 11/24! New
JUST BOOKED: Ethan Hawke Comes to BookPeople 11/24!

Tuesday, November 24th at 7pm We are super excited to announce that actor and author Ethan Hawke will be joining

Learn to Rock Climb, Hike at Mt Tam, and Trust Your Trad Class This Weekend New
Learn to Rock Climb, Hike at Mt Tam, and Trust Your Trad Class This Weekend

October 8, 2015 Club News Trivia Contest What Are You Doing This Weekend? Local Knowledge Walk and Bike Bay Area

David Eagleman & Geraldine Brooks this week! + Join our food drive, and more! New
David Eagleman & Geraldine Brooks this week! + Join our food drive, and more!

-moz-box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-box-sizing: border-box; clear:both;   Davis, a nationally renowned surgeon and weight loss specialist, shifts the paradigm on protein

Lee Child, Zoe Sharp, and more at Book Culture! New
Lee Child, Zoe Sharp, and more at Book Culture!

align:center; -webkit-text-size-adjust:100%; -ms-text-size-adjust:100%; border-collapse:collapse; mso-table-lspace:0pt; mso-table-rspace:0pt; Talks with Lee Child and Zoe Sharp, Bonnie Nadzam and Dale Jamieson, and more!

✉ Day 2: Friends & Family 30% Off! New
✉ Day 2: Friends & Family 30% Off!

Prescriptives Remember: Free Shipping + Free returns on Every Order!   * 30% discount will be automatically applied at checkout

The London Souls – Don’t Miss This Performance! + Big News! New
The London Souls – Don’t Miss This Performance! + Big News!

Share Tweet Forward The London Souls – Don’t Miss This! + Big News! Tuesday, October 6, 2015 Can’t See The

Ready For The Winter?? New
Ready For The Winter??

Ready For The Winter??                             Style# 28881

New from City Lights Publishers: “Stars Seen in Person: Selected Journals” by John W ... New
New from City Lights Publishers: “Stars Seen in Person: Selected Journals” by John Wieners

4 previously unpublished journals from one of the great 20th century poets. City Lights Publishers is proud to present Stars

Halloween Makeup, Candles + More! – Free Ship + Deluxe Samples New
Halloween Makeup, Candles + More! – Free Ship + Deluxe Samples

[email protected]                                                                                              Paul Labrecque Hair   l  Hair l  Skin  l  Makeup  l  Men  l  Body  l Holiday l Salon Menu l Spa Menu

See new products from Gaco at tomorrow’s Wiener Wednesday New
See new products from Gaco at tomorrow’s Wiener Wednesday

Gaco is hosting this week’s Wiener Wednesday! Come to our main location at 2950 N Western and learn about new

Ooh…Yes! FREE Flexi-G Vibe & Sensations He’ll LOVE! New
Ooh…Yes! FREE Flexi-G Vibe & Sensations He’ll LOVE!

Bring inline: Yes */ Sensations to try on him during his next BJ! New Arrivals This Week! DON’T FORGET! Last

New from China, Mexico, Senegal, and Long Island New
New from China, Mexico, Senegal, and Long Island

New from China, Mexico, Senegal, and Long Island Fun, practical, and exotic new publications! Wonderful new books for the fall

♫ Music Coming Soon: MoFi, The Who, Buena Vista Social Club, and More New
♫ Music Coming Soon: MoFi, The Who, Buena Vista Social Club, and More

Music Direct Presents: New Music This Week ECM Records, Kurt Cobain, Frank Sinatra, The Byrds, and More Kurt Cobain Montage

News from Joseph Fox Bookshop New
News from Joseph Fox Bookshop

  Author Events October 12th – October 18th, 2015 AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER IN OCTOBER Signed First Printings The Courage to Act: A

This Week: CHELSEA CLINTON Comes to BookPeople! New
This Week: CHELSEA CLINTON Comes to BookPeople!

THIS WEEK – TICKETS STILL AVAILABLE! This event is a signing only. Tickets are required and only available with the purchase


Top